Stages of Ophthalmic Examination

A comprehensive ophthalmic examination lasts at least 30 minutes. The fundus should always be checked during the examination by using eye drops.


Visual Acuity Testing

Our ability to see fine details is measured by tests comprising of numbers that gradually get smaller in size.


Refraction Tests

Loss of clear vision due to refractive errors requires glasses to be worn.


Examination of the Eyelids

The condition of the eyelids, lacrimal glands, tear drainage system and areas surrounding the eyes is checked.


Examination of Ocular Movement

Inner eye muscles control the pupil's movements. Outer eye muscles ensure that the eyes are parallel. The condition of eye muscles is checked during strabismus and diplopia examinations.


Intraocular Pressure Measurement

Intraocular pressure is measured using automated or manual methods. These measurements are essential for early diagnosis of glaucoma.


Biomicroscopic Examination

The cornea, iris, lens and retina layers are examined in detail by using special devices.


Fundus Examination

This examination is performed by dilating the pupil with an eye drop and can reveal the signs of many conditions such as retinal detachment, glaucoma, hypertension, brain tumors and other diseases.